Fearless (Taylor’s Version)

Lydia Bickerton

     Taylor Swift has released her re-recording of the Fearless album, including six songs “from the vault.”

     Swift re-released her Fearless album on Friday, April 9, with six songs “from the vault.” These songs are “You All Over Me,” “Mr. Perfectly Fine,” “We Were Happy,” “That’s When,” “Don’t You,” and “Bye Bye Baby.” The whole album is available on all major streaming services.

     Swift worked with Big Machine Records to create her first six albums, but once her contract was up she did not sign with them again. Big Machine Records sold her first six albums to Scooter Braun, who then sold the albums to a private equity company, Shamrock Holdings. Although Swift does not own the rights to her first six albums, she is able to re-record them, and she’s starting with Fearless. 

     During 2020, Swift recorded and produced two new albums, Folklore and Evermore. Folklore even won album of the year. Amidst those albums though, Swift was working to re-record her Fearless album, which also won album of the year when it was first released. If it weren’t for her hard work and dedication, fans would never have gotten the re-recording of Fearless

     “Love Story (Taylor’s Version)” was released on February 11. Following that on March 26, “You All Over Me” was released from the vault. Finally the last song to be released was “Mr. Perfectly Fine,” which came out just two days before the full album, and was a smashing success among fans. The album performed great, and the fans were overjoyed with this re-recording.